english exercises

english exercises

Lesson of 25 Oct

2013. október 25. - polly graph


 

 

My name is Katie. I am English, I live in London. London is a very big city. I like it very much. My house is not in the centre. It’s a very small house. I have a living room, a kitchen, a bedroom and a bathroom. I have a garden, too.

 

I am 25. I am single. I am short and sporty. I have long brown hair and green eyes. I usually wear jeans and a T-shirt.

I work in a bookshop in the centre of London. I really like my job.

 

I come from a small family. My mother’s name is Pamela. She is 50. She is a teacher. She doesn’t like London. She lives in a small town with my father, Peter, who is a painter.

I have a sister, Diana. She lives in Germany. She is a student.

 

In summer I start my day at 7. I make a cup of tea in the kitchen, then I open the windows. My house is next to a beautiful green park. I run in the park every morning.

I go to work at 8. I always go by bus. The shop opens at 9. It’s a very small shop. I work with 2 colleagues. I have a very good job and good colleagues.

I have lunch at 1 pm. I usually eat a sandwich or a salad and drink mineral water or a cup of tea. After lunch I go back to the shop. I finish work at 6 pm. After work I sometimes go to the cinema with my friends or eat out. I call my mother every evening.

 

At weekends I sometimes go to a museum. I like the BritishMuseum very much.

I like the parks of London, too. We sometimes have a picnic with my friends in GreenPark.

I like books very much. I like romantic films, too. But I don’t like horror films.

I like sports: tennis, basketball and jogging.

 

I don’t like winter in London. It’s cold and dark. I usually go on holiday in January. I like Italy and Greece. In January Rome is not very hot. I really like the museums. The Italians are very friendly.

 

I always go home for Christmas. My mother cooks the dinner. She cooks turkey and chips. My sister and I always help her in the kitchen. My father buys the Christmas tree. We listen to music, play Monopoly and watch TV. I really like Christmas.

 

 

What’s your name?

What’s your mother’s/father’s name?

What color is you hair? And your eyes?

What do you drink in the morning?

What do you do in the park?

What do you eat for lunch?

What do you do after work?

What do you do in January?

What does your mother cook for Christmas?

What does your father buy?

What do you play?

 

 

 

 

My name ……….Katie. I am English, I live ……. London. London is a very big city. I like it very much. My house is not in the centre. It’s a very small house. I have a living room, a kitchen, a bedroom and a bathroom. I have a garden, too.

 

I am 25. I am single. I am short and sporty. I have long brown hair and green eyes. I usually ……… jeans and a T-shirt.

I ……….. in a bookshop in the centre of London. I really like my job.

 

I come ……….. a small family. My mother’s name is Pamela. She is 50. She is a teacher. She doesn’t like London. She lives in a small town ………. my father, Peter, who is a painter.

I have a sister. She lives in Germany. She is a student.

 

In summer I start my day ………. 7. I make a cup ……. tea in the kitchen, then I open the windows. My house is …………. to a beautiful green park. I run in the park ……. morning.

I go to work at 8. I always go …….. bus. The shop opens at 9. It’s a very small shop. I work with 2 colleagues. I have a very good job and good colleagues.

I have lunch at 1…….. . I usually eat a sandwich or a salad and drink mineral water or a cup of tea. After lunch I go back to the shop. I ……. work at 6 pm. After work I sometimes go to the cinema with my friends or eat out. I call my mother …….. evening.

 

At weekends I sometimes go ……. a museum. I like the BritishMuseum very much.

I like the parks of London, too. We sometimes …….. a picnic with my friends in GreenPark.

I like books …….. much. I like romantic films, too. But I don’t like horror films.

I like sports: tennis, basketball and jogging.

 

I don’t like winter in London. It’s cold and dark. I usually go …… holiday in January. I like Italy and Greece. In January Rome is not very hot. I really like the museums. The Italians are very friendly.

 

I always …… home for Christmas. My mother cooks the dinner. She ……. turkey and chips. My sister and I always help her in the kitchen. My father buys the …….. tree. We listen ……. music, play Monopoly and watch TV. I really like Christmas.

 

 

 

 

 

Her name is Katie. She is English ….

 

 

 

 

 

Katie is English. I am Hungarian.

Katie’s English. I’m Hungarian.

 

 

 

  1. Add more words:

 

 

January, February,

Monday, Tuesday,

Black, white,

Ham, chicken

Milk, wine,

Dog, cat,

 

  1. True or false?

 

 

Milk is green.

Christmas is in December.

My birthday is in August.

It’s Friday.

It’s Saturday.

Spain is in Europe.

England is in the west of Europe.

Pécs is in the south of  Hungary.

January is the second month of the year.

Coffee is black.

Pink is my favourite colour.

The day after Saturday is Sunday.

 

  1. Match

 

 

 A. eat                                     yellow             restaurant            broccoli            milk            

 

B.  drink                       bedroom            December        carrot              water           park

 

C. colour                                 brother                basketball         June          Thursday

 

D. sport                         beach            Pizza Hut               popcorn       pineapple      green

 

E. family                               city centre             mother                    Wednesday

 

F. place                        airport              beer                   tomato                     Friday

 

G. day                                   bank             daughter                  purple                     husband

 

H. month                     brown              wife               strawberry               skiing

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4. True or false

 

I am a man.

I am a woman.

I’m in a taxi.

I’m a tourist.

I’m in a lift.

I’m in a small city.

I’m in the city centre.

I’m in a green park.

I’m in a dark cellar.

I’m on the beach.

I’m a mother.

I’m a father.

I’m a good mother.

I’m a good student.

I’m Ann.

I’m married.

I’m single.

I’m Hungarian.

I’m French.

I’m under the table.

I’m under the chair.

I’m in a shoe shop.

I’m in a clean room.

I’m at home.

I’m in a motel.

I’m in a big supermarket.

I’m from Hungary.

I’m OK.

I’m twenty-three years old.

I’m fifty years old.

I’m forty-four years old.

I’m thirty-four years old.

 

5.Answer the questions:

 

What colour is milk? It’s white.

What colour is your car?

What colour is your bag?

What colour is coffee?

What colour is your mobile phone?

What colour is your passport?

What colour is a lemon?

What colour is a banana?

What colour is chocolate?

What colour is the sun?

What colour is your TV?

What colour is your microwave oven?

What colour is your fridge?

What colour is your chair?

What colour is cheese?

What colour is an elephant?

What colour is Santa Claus?

What colour is an orange?

What colour is your pen?

 

6.

 

A  …C … E    G …I  …K  … M  … O  … Q  … S … U …W …Y …

 

Thurs … ay      E…glish      Oc…ober    micro…ave      …pen

 

Shoulde…s       …upermarket      eg…          rela…             blu…

 

7.

PC,   VCR,   BMW,   UK,   SMS,   RIP,   ABS,   USA, ABC, JFK, 

 

FBI,   HBO,  CIA,     DNA,   TV

 

8.

Numbers:

ONE     TWO    THREE     FOUR     FIVE      SIX     SEVEN    EIGHT   NINE     TEN

 

 

ELEVEN   TWELVE   THIRTEEN   FOURTEEN     FIFTEEN     SIXTEEN    SEVENTEEN

 

 

EIGHTEEN      NINETEEN       TWENTY

 

9.

 

QUESTIONS.

What’s your telephone number? What’s your favourite colour? What’s your address?

What’s your husband’s name? What’s your daughter’s name? When is your birthday? When is Christmas?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Present Simple

 

 

I   never    drive to work

I rarely read newspapers in the morning.

I sometimes eat an omelet for breakfast.

I usually take a shower in the morning.

I often go on business trips.

I always drink a cup of coffee in the morning.

 

Now make similar sentences. Start with …

 

I never

I rarely

I sometimes

I usually

I often

I always

 

Now, it’s time to practice a new question

 

How often do you    go to the cinema,  go shopping, cook lunch, eat out,  watch a video,  use your computer,  wash your hair,  vacuum the floor,  see your mother,

go on holiday,  have breakfast in bed, write an e-mail,  go swimming,   drink wine,

wash your hands,  water the plants,  go jogging,  chat with your best friend,  smoke,

go out,  go to Budapest, go to the post office ?

 

And of course it’s time to learn how to answer these questions:

 

Once                      

Twice                       a week (a month, a year, a day)

Three times

 

 

Every other week

Every other day

 

Once in a blue moon

 

 

Now we’ll talk about other people and use she/he/it and add an   ‘s’ to the verbs

like this:

 

She never drives to work.

 

 

A bejegyzés trackback címe:

https://theenglish.blog.hu/api/trackback/id/tr875598463

Kommentek:

A hozzászólások a vonatkozó jogszabályok  értelmében felhasználói tartalomnak minősülnek, értük a szolgáltatás technikai  üzemeltetője semmilyen felelősséget nem vállal, azokat nem ellenőrzi. Kifogás esetén forduljon a blog szerkesztőjéhez. Részletek a  Felhasználási feltételekben és az adatvédelmi tájékoztatóban.

Nincsenek hozzászólások.
süti beállítások módosítása